DOCKETED	
Docket Number:	20-LITHIUM-01
Project Title:	Lithium Valley Commission
TN #:	237360
Document Title:	Meeting Action Minutes for February 25, 2021 Meeting
Description:	Meeting Action Minutes for February 25, 2021 Meeting for the Lithium Valley Commission
Filer:	Elisabeth de Jong
Organization:	California Energy Commission
Submitter Role:	Commission Staff
Submission Date:	4/1/2021 10:29:28 AM
Docketed Date:	4/1/2021

Lithium Valley Commission Meeting Action Minutes - February 25, 2021

The Lithium Valley Commission (LVC) meeting was called to order on February 25, 2021, at 1:00 PM by California Energy Commission (CEC) Project Manager Elisabeth de Jong.

Attendance: LVC Commissioners

- Rod Colwell
- Roderic Dolega
- Miranda Flores
- Martha Guzman Aceves
- James C. Hanks
- Ryan E. Kelley

Members not in attendance

• Arthur Lopez

Commission vacancies

• Senate Committee on Rules Commission Seat.

- Luis Olmedo
- Silvia Paz
- Frank Ruiz
- Manfred Scott
- Thomas Soto
- Jonathan Weisgall

Presentations

- CEC staff provided presentations and facilitated Commission discussion on AB 1657 and California Lithium Recovery and Importance
- An attorney from the CEC's Chief Council's Office provided training on the requirements
 of the Bagley-Keene Open Meeting Act and Public Records Act. Materials supporting this
 training have been made publicly available through the docket associated with the
 Lithium Valley Commission activities: TN # 236892

Voting Items

1. Chair Election

Luis Olmedo moved to elect a Chair for the Lithium Valley Commission, and Frank Ruiz seconded. The vote passes by a majority vote to nominate and elect a Chair.

- Record of Votes:
 - o Rod Colwell Yes
 - Roderic Dolega Yes
 - Miranda Flores Yes
 - Martha Guzman Aceves Yes
 - o James C. Hanks Yes
 - o Ryan E. Kelley Yes

- o Luis Olmedo Yes
- Silvia Paz Yes
- o Frank Ruiz Yes
- Manfred Scott Yes
- Thomas Soto not present
- o Jonathan Weisgall Yes

Silvia Paz was nominated by Luis Olmedo, seconded by Martha Guzman-Aceves. Ryan Kelley was nominated by Rod Colwell, seconded by Frank Ruiz. The vote passes by a majority vote to elect Silvia Paz as Chair of the Lithium Valley Commission.

Record of Votes:

- o Rod Colwell Kelley
- Roderic Dolega Abstain
- Miranda Flores Paz
- Martha Guzman Aceves Paz
- James C. Hanks Kelley
- o Ryan E. Kelley Kelley

- o Luis Olmedo Paz
- o Silvia Paz Paz
- Frank Ruiz Kelley
- Manfred Scott Paz
- Thomas Soto not present
- Jonathan Weisgall Paz

2. Frequency of Meetings

Ryan Kelley moved to hold monthly reoccurring meetings and Rod Colwell seconded. The vote passes with majority votes.

- Record of Votes:
 - o Rod Colwell Yes
 - o Roderic Dolega Yes
 - Miranda Flores Yes
 - Martha Guzman Aceves Yes
 - o James C. Hanks Yes
 - o Ryan E. Kelley Yes

- Luis Olmedo Yes
- Silvia Paz Yes
- o Frank Ruiz Yes
- o Manfred Scott Yes
- Thomas Soto not present
- Jonathan Weisgall Yes

Next Steps and Closing Comments

- The Commissioners deferred the agenda items identified below to a subsequent meeting.
 - Charter, Proposed Agenda Topics for Future Meetings, Potential Guest Speakers and presentations of Interest
- Next meeting to be held in March 2021

Items of Interest and Resources Referenced During the Meeting

- Items e-filed to the <u>Lithium Valley Commission Docket</u> can be found here: https://efiling.energy.ca.gov/Lists/DocketLog.aspx?docketnumber=20-LITHIUM-01
- Resources provided by attendees:
 - o <u>DOE-funded report</u>
 - o Crisis at the Salton Sea
 - o Presidential Executive Order <u>Fact Sheet</u> and <u>Text</u>
 - California Lithium Economy Act: AB 1397