DOCKETED	
Docket Number:	19-ERDD-01
Project Title:	Research Idea Exchange
TN #:	242544
Document Title:	Agenda for Advancing Non-Lithium-lon Long-Duration Energy Storage Technologies
Description:	Agenda for the April 5, 2022, Workshop on Advancing Non- Lithium-lon Long-Duration Energy Storage Technologies.
Filer:	Reta Ortiz
Organization:	California Energy Commission
Submitter Role:	Commission Staff
Submission Date:	4/4/2022 3:02:21 PM
Docketed Date:	4/4/2022



California Energy Commission Workshop

Advancing Non-Lithium-Ion Long-Duration Energy Storage Technologies

April 5, 2022

CalEPA Headquarters Building Byron Sher Auditorium 1001 | Street Sacramento, CA 95814

10:00 am – 2:30 pm

(Wheelchair Accessible) Event will Support Both in-Person Attendance and Zoom Remote Access

Virtual Link to Workshop:

https://energy.zoom.us/j/94623702549?pwd=OEhvYkJYMExEV3BLcW54UHZDSjdTQT09

ID: 946 2370 2549 Password: CEC2022

Principals Scheduled to Attend:

- David Hochschild, Chair, California Energy Commission
- Siva Gunda, Vice Chair, California Energy Commission
- Karen Douglas, Senior Advisor for Energy in the Office of the Governor (tentative)
- Alice Busching Reynolds, President, California Public Utilities Commission
- Genevieve Shiroma, Commissioner, California Public Utilities Commission
- Darcie Houck, Commissioner, California Public Utilities Commission
- Khaled Abdul-Rhaman, Vice President, Power Systems & Market Technology, California Independent System Operator

Workshop Overview

This workshop will examine opportunities to advance non-lithium-ion long-duration energy storage technologies through the Electric Program Investment Charge (EPIC), proposed new state funding, and federal infrastructure funding. Workshop speakers will review the state of the long duration energy storage market with a focus on California. In 2020, the EPIC program

As of 0404022

awarded 25 new grants for emerging energy storage technologies and 11 of those grants were for different emerging non-lithium-ion long duration energy storage technology evaluations and demonstrations. The current proposed Governor's state FY 2022-2023 budget includes \$380M that would be administered by the Energy Commission to advance the commercial state of nonlithium-ion long duration energy storage technologies to allow California to have more technology options in the future. Part of the workshop discussions will be around how best to utilize these proposed new one-time state funds to advance the commercial state of these emerging non-lithium-ion long duration energy storage technologies and the ability to attract new federal funding to support the implementation of long duration energy storage technologies in California.

Agenda

10:00 am	Workshop Overview and Safety InstructionsMike Gravely
10:05 am	Opening Comments from Chair Hochschild and the Dais
10:25 am	 Overview of EPIC Program and Long Duration Energy Storage Activities Jonah Steinbuck, ERDD Deputy Director Mike Gravely, Senior Engineer and Team Lead
10:45 am	 Department of Energy (DOE) Long Duration Energy Storage Plans Eric Hsieh, DOE Manager for Innovations to control, convert, transport, and store electricity
11:00 am	 CPUC Update on Energy storage and long duration energy storage role in future resource adequacy and planned future energy storage procurements James McGarry, Senior Analyst, Integrated Resource Planning, CPUC
11:15 am	 CAISO Update on the role of energy storage and long duration energy storage in future of state level grid management Gabe Murtaugh, Storage Sector Manager, Market, and Infrastructure Policy, CAISO
11:30 am	 Panel: Energy Storage Stakeholders—What new opportunities do non-lithium- ion long duration energy storage technologies offer California? Jin Noh, Policy Director, California Energy Storage Association Julia Souder, Executive Director, Long Duration Energy Storage Alliance of California

11:50 – 12:45 am Lunch Break

12:45 pm	 Panel: Industrial Stakeholders—What is needed to allow non-lithium-Ion technologies compete with Lithium-ion in future competitive procurements? Balki Iyer, Chief Commercial Officer, Eos Energy (aqueous zinc technology) Larry Zulch, Chief Executive Officer, Invinity (flow battery technology) Mateo Jaramillo, Chief Executive Officer, Form Energy (iron-air technology) Henrik Stiesdal, Owner, Stiesdal Company, (thermal energy storge)
1:20 pm	Open Discussion and Questions with PresentersModerator (Mike Gravely)
2:00 pm	Public CommentsModerator (Mike Gravely)
2:20 pm	Closing Comments Chair Hochschild

Written comments must be submitted to the Docket Unit by 5:00 p.m. on April 26, 2022.

• See Workshop Public Announcement for detail instructions on how to file written comments.