DOCKETED	
Docket Number:	20-LITHIUM-01
Project Title:	Lithium Valley Commission
TN #:	235988
Document Title:	Resolution Approving Appointment of Lithium Valley Commission Members
Description:	Resolution No: 20-1209-3
Filer:	Cody Goldthrite
Organization:	California Energy Commission
Submitter Role:	Commission Staff
Submission Date:	12/17/2020 9:47:29 AM
Docketed Date:	12/17/2020

RESOLUTION NO: 20-1209-3

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

STATE ENERGY RESOURCES CONSERVATION AND DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

RESOLUTION APPROVING APPOINTMENT OF LITHIUM VALLEY COMMISSION MEMBERS

WHEREAS, Assembly Bill 1657 (Garcia, Chapter 271, 2020) (AB 1657), identifies the need for the development of lithium resources in the Salton Sea geothermal resource area in order to meet the projected need for lithium in the near future; and

WHEREAS, AB 1657 requires the California Energy Commission (CEC) to convene within the CEC the Blue Ribbon Commission on Lithium Extraction in California (hereafter referred to as the Lithium Valley Commission); and

WHEREAS, the Lithium Valley Commission shall review, investigate, and analyze certain issues relating to lithium extraction and use in California, including development of geothermal facilities, market opportunities for lithium, technical advancements, environmental standards and impacts, as well as opportunities for local, state, and federal incentives and investments, as further detailed in AB 1657; and

WHEREAS, under AB 1657, the CEC has responsibility to appoint nine of the 14 Lithium Valley Commission members, with the remaining appointments to be made by the California Public Utilities Commission, the Secretary of the California Natural Resources Agency, the Senate Committee on Rules, the Speaker of the Assembly, and the Governor; and

WHEREAS, the CEC solicited applications for each of the nine seats to which it will appoint members; and

WHEREAS, CEC Commissioner Karen Douglas and Chair David Hochschild have reviewed the applications received, and have jointly recommended individuals to be appointed to the Lithium Valley Commission; and

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the CEC accepts the recommendations, and appoints the following individuals to the Lithium Valley Commission, effective January 1, 2021:

- Manfred Scott, Quechan Indian Tribe General member
- Jonathan Weisgall, Berkshire Hathaway Energy Represents the lithium extraction industry
- Roderic Dolega, Ford EV Purchasing Represents a national vehicle manufacturer organization

- Frank Ruiz, Salton Sea Program Director for Audubon California Represents a local environmental organization
- **Ryan E. Kelley**, County of Imperial Represents a local city or county government in the Salton Sea geothermal resource area
- James C. Hanks, Imperial Irrigation District Represents a local public electric utility
- Luis Olmedo, Comite Civico Del Valle, Inc. Represents disadvantaged and lowincome communities in the Salton Sea geothermal resource area
- **Arthur Lopez**, Torres Martinez Desert Cahuilla Indians Represents a local tribal community
- Rod Colwell, Controlled Thermal Resources Member with knowledge of economics and the effectiveness of local, state, and federal incentives; and

FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED, that the Executive Director or his/her designee is authorized to take all action, including facilitating Lithium Valley Commission coordination with the United States Environmental Protection Agency and the United States Department of Energy and their respective staff as necessary, to ensure the Lithium Valley Commission accomplishes the purposes set forth in AB 1657.

CERTIFICATION

The undersigned Secretariat to the California Energy Commission does hereby certify that the foregoing is a full, true, and correct copy of a Resolution duly and regularly adopted at a meeting of the California Energy Commission held on December 9, 2020.

AYE: Hochschild, Scott, Douglas, McAllister, Monahan

NAY: None ABSENT: None ABSTAIN: None

Cody Goldthrite

Cody Goldthrite

Secretariat