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l. INTRODUCTION AND OVERVIEW

In 2007, Governor Schwarzenegger signed into law the California Alternative and
Renewable Fuel, Vehicle Technology, Clean Air, and Carbon Reduction Act of 2007
(AB 118, Statutes of 2007, Chapter 750). AB 118 created the Air Quality Improvement
Program (AQIP), a voluntary incentive program administered by the California Air
Resources Board (CARB or Board), to fund clean vehicle and equipment projects, air
quality research, and workforce training.

As required in Health and Safety Code (HSC) Section 44274(a), the Board adopted
regulatory guidelines in 2009 for AQIP. The Guidelines for the AB 118 Air Quality
Improvement Program (Guidelines) define the overall administrative requirements and
policies and procedures for program implementation based on the framework
established in statute. Central to the Guidelines is the requirement for a Board-
approved annual funding plan developed with public input. The funding plan is each
year’s blueprint for expending AQIP funds appropriated to the CARB in the annual State
Budget. The funding plan focuses AQIP on supporting development and deployment of
the advanced technologies needed to meet California’s longer-term, post 2020 air
quality goals.

In 2012, the legislature passed and Governor Brown signed into law three bills — AB
1532 (Pérez, Chapter 807), Senate Bill (SB) 535 (de Ledn, Chapter 830), and SB 1018
(Budget and Fiscal Review Committee, Chapter 39) — that established the Greenhouse
Gas Reduction Fund (GGRF) to receive Cap-and-Trade auction proceeds and to
provide the framework for how the auction proceeds will be administered to further the
purposes of Assembly Bill 32 (AB 32; Nunez, Chapter 488, Statutes of 2006). Cap-and-
Trade auction proceeds have been appropriated to CARB for Low Carbon
Transportation projects that reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, with an
emphasis on investments that benefit the State’s disadvantaged communities. Per
statute, these funds must be used to further the purposes of AB 32. The Low Carbon
Transportation investments build upon and greatly expand existing advanced
technology, clean transportation programs, which provide mobile source incentives to
reduce criteria pollutant, air toxic, and GHG emissions.

In June 2019, the Legislature approved $238 million in Cap-and-Trade auction proceeds
for the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP). In October 2019, CARB approved the
Fiscal Year 2019-20 Funding Plan for Low Carbon Transportation Investments and Air
Quality Improvement Program (FY 2019-20 Funding Plan)!. Of the $238 million, CARB
allocated $115 million to cover the remaining FY 2018-19 demand, and the remaining
amount will cover the FY 2019-20 rebates.

The approved FY 2019-2020 Funding Plan is available at:
http://www.arb.ca.gov/msprog/agip/fundplan/fundplan.htm
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CVRP is intended to encourage and accelerate zero- and near-zero-emission, on-road
light-duty vehicle deployment and technology innovation. This project provides rebates
to qualified individuals, businesses, public agencies and entities, and nonprofit
organizations for the purchase or lease of eligible vehicles. CVRP benefits the citizens
of California by providing immediate air pollution emission reductions while stimulating
development and deployment of the next generation of zero-emission and plug-inhybrid
electric light-duty vehicles. It is administered and implemented through a partnership
between CARB and a Project Administrator (Administrator), selected via a competitive
CARB grant solicitation. The majority of project funds are for rebates for purchasers or
lessees of new, eligible on-road vehicles.

The CVRP Terms and Conditions, in conjunction with the Guidelines and the Funding
Plan, identify the minimum requirements for implementing CVRP. The Implementation
Manual for the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (Implementation Manual) provides
necessary definitions, explanations, and processes associated with those minimum
requirements. The Implementation Manual may be periodically updated as needed to
clarify project requirements and improve project effectiveness. The Implementation
Manual and Terms and Conditions, including any updates, will be posted on the
CVRP webpage at CleanVehicleRebate.org.

The Administrator is responsible for ensuring that purchasers and lessees meet all
applicable CVRP requirements and may consult with CARB regarding CVRP rebate
applications, as well as vehicle and ownership requirements for both rebate applicants
and rebate recipients.

Note to Applicants: Both the Terms and Conditions and Implementation Manual, in
place at the time a signed application is submitted, will determine an applicant’s
eligibility for the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP). These governing documents are
updated several times every year to accommodate operational process changes and
may affect the applicant’s eligibility for the program. The next scheduled updates to
CVRP governing documents can be found in the CVRP FAQs at
CleanVehicleRebate.org/fags under “How often do CVRP program requirements
change?” Note that CVRP reserves the right to update the Implementation Manual and
the Terms and Conditions outside of the scheduled updates.

This document constitutes the Implementation Manual for CVRP. Definitions of key
program parameters are located in Section E of this manual.

A. CVRP Project Overview

CVRP enables a purchaser or lessee of an eligible vehicle to apply for a CVRP rebate
of up to $7,000* for fuel-cell electric vehicles (FCEVSs), up to $4,500* for all-battery
electric vehicles (BEVs), up to $3,500* for plug-in hybrid electric light-duty vehicles
(PHEVS), and up to $750* for zero-emission motorcycles (ZEMs). Consumers may
apply for a rebate only after taking possession of and registering an eligible vehicle™ or
if leased, after obtaining registration of an eligible vehicle™.
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*Amounts shown include increased rebate amounts available to low to moderate
income consumers.

“This requirement does not apply to Rebate Now applicants or CVRP Public Fleets
applicants submitting a “Pre-Acquisition Application.”

CVRP Rebate Now enables a California resident to apply for a rebate prior to
purchasing or leasing a vehicle. Rebate Now is currently being piloted to San Diego
County residents only. After an application is preapproved, the applicant may then
purchase or lease an eligible vehicle from a currently participating dealership. The
preapproved rebate amount may then be applied towards the purchase or lease. The
applicant may also choose to directly receive the rebate check via US mail. Rebate Now
applications are available online via the CVRP website, or by contacting the
Administrator directly at cvrp@energycenter.org or (866) 984-2532.

CVRP for public fleets provides rebates to public agencies for the purchase of eligible
vehicles for public fleets. The CVRP for public fleet incentive offers an option for
agencies with fleets to reserve funds in advance of taking possession of an eligible
vehicle. Applicants must certify intent to acquire an eligible vehicle and provide proof of
acquisition in order to reserve rebate funds. Applications are available online via the
CVRP Fleet and Business Vehicle Rebates webpage,
http://www.CleanVehicleRebate.org/fleet or by contacting the Administrator directly at
publicfleets@energycenter.org or (866) 984-2532.

Key milestones for CVRP development and implementation for FY 2019-20 are
identified in Table 1.

Table 1: CVRP Development and Implementation Timeline for FY 2019-20*

Action ltem Date or Time Period

Selection of Rebate Administrator. November 2016

FY 2019-20 vehicle funding becomes available.
Online applications available at the CVRP website.

September 2019

CVRP Implementation Manual updated and

program changes implemented. July 2020

*This timeline may be changed, and Implementation Manual updated at CARB’s sole
discretion.

Information about CVRP is available to the public and other interested parties via the
CVRP website. The CVRP website, CleanVehicleRebate.org, is operated and
maintained by the Administrator, and includes an up-to-date list of eligible vehicles,
rebate amounts for each vehicle, online rebate applications, all supporting
documentation and forms applicable to CVRP, a real-time running total of available
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funds remaining in the program, and the amount of rebates approved and issued by
vehicle type. This website allows the program to be “user-friendly” while providing
project transparency.

Il. VEHICLE ELIGIBILITY
A. Vehicle Categories

This section discusses the categories of vehicles eligible for grant funding under CVRP
and the specific criteria that a vehicle model must meet to be considered eligible.
Aftermarket PHEV and BEV conversions are not eligible for CVRP funding. Vehicle
models will be approved by CARB on a model-year basis and placed on a List of
Eligible Vehicle Models for rebates. A continuously updated list of eligible vehicles and
rebate amounts will be maintained on the designated CVRP website. Vehicle
manufacturers must submit a Vehicle Eligibility Application to CARB to have their
vehicles considered for rebate eligibility. The vehicle manufacturer is responsible for
providing all the required documentation described on the application. CARB will
coordinate with vehicle manufacturers to request any additional documentation needed
for eligibility determinations. CARB is responsible for providing the Administrator the
current List of Eligible Vehicle Models and the corresponding rebate amounts.

Three major categories of vehicles are eligible for grant funding under CVRP:
(1) light-duty zero-emission vehicles, (2) light-duty plug-in hybrid electric vehicles, and
(3) zero-emission motorcycles.

1. Light-Duty Zero-Emission Vehicles (ZEVSs)

Vehicles in the ZEV category include electric-drive, all-battery electric vehicles
(BEVs) and fuel-cell electric vehicles (FCEVS) up to 8,500 pounds gross vehicle
weight rating (GVWR). For the purposes of CVRP, ZEVs are categorized as
defined in the California Zero-Emission Vehicle Regulation Sections 1962 and
1962.1, Title 13, California Code of Regulations (CCR). The range-extended
battery electric vehicle (BEVX) is a regulatory vehicle category that was approved
by the Board in January 2012 and included as a zero-emission vehicle type for
CVRP in June 2012 as part of the FY 2012-13 AQIP Funding Plan approval. In
the FY 2019-20 Funding Plan, the BEVx continues to be an approved zero-
emission vehicle type for CVRP.

2.  Light-Duty Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicles (PHEVS)

PHEVs are hybrid electric vehicles that have zero-emission vehicle range

capability, an on-board electrical energy storage device, and an on-board

charger, and are rechargeable from an external connection to an off-board

electrical source. Rebate-eligible PHEVs include only those meeting Super Ultra

Low Emission Vehicle (SULEV) tailpipe-emission standards, have a 15-year,
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150,000 mile warranty on emission-control components, and have zero
evaporative emissions from their fuel systems. All eligible PHEVs must have
greater than or equal to 35 miles of Urban Dynamometer Driving Schedule
(UDDS) range on electricity alone.

3. Zero-Emission Motorcycles (ZEMs)

Vehicles in the ZEM category include zero-emission vehicles designed to travel
on three wheels and two-wheel electric motorcycles meeting the provisions of
CVC Section 400 and the ZEM evaluation procedures.

B. Vehicle Eligibility Criteria
Vehicles must meet the following criteria to be eligible for a rebate:

e Have a base Manufacturer Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) of $60,000 or
less:

With the exception of fuel-cell electric vehicles, all vehicles must have a base
MSRP cap of $60,000 or less.

o Be new:

With the exception of vehicles described in Section 2(i)(ii), the vehicle must be a
new vehicle as defined in CVC Section 430.2 The Original Equipment
Manufacturer (OEM) or its authorized licensee must manufacture the vehicle.
Vehicles considered new vehicles solely for determination of compliance with
state emissions standards pursuant to Health and Safety Code, Article 1.5,
Prohibited Transactions, (Sections 43150-43156) and CVC Section 4000.2,
Registration of Out-of-State Vehicles) are not eligible vehicles. The vehicle must
have an odometer reading of fewer than 7,500 miles at the time of purchase.
Third-party leases are considered previously owned vehicles.

o If the vehicle is not new, is pre-owned, has been re-leased, or has been
transferred into California after previously having been registered out-of-
state, the vehicle is not eligible for a rebate through CVRP. If the required
supporting documentation does not satisfactorily prove that the vehicle is
new, other documentation may be requested to satisfy this requirement, at
the Administrator’s discretion.

2Per section 430 of the California Vehicle Code, a "new vehicle" is a vehicle constructed entirely from new
parts that have never been the subject of a retail sale, or registered with the California Department of Motor
Vehicles, or registered with the appropriate agency or authority of any other state, District of Columbia,
territory or possession of the United States, or foreign State, province, or country.
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Vehicles previously used as dealership floor models and test drive
vehicles are eligible for the rebate only if the vehicles have not been
previously registered. The Administrator will use specific procedures
when processing rebate applications for floor model, test drive, unwind
and rollback vehicles. (See Attachment B for additional information).

o0 Rollback and Unwind Vehicle Provision

A “rollback” occurs when a buyer purchases or leases a vehicle then
returns it shortly after purchase, or when a buyer’s financing is
disapproved. An “unwind” occurs when an Application for Registration of
New Vehicle is completed, but the sale was not consummated, and the
buyer never took delivery. Vehicles determined by the Administrator to be
unrebated rollback or unwind vehicles will be eligible to receive a rebate.
However, additional documentation from the dealership may be required.
Floor model/test drive vehicles (dealer demos and executive dealer
demos) that were previously registered are not eligible for the rebate.

Be CARB approved/certified and purchased or leased in California:

The vehicle model must be certified by CARB as a new zero-emission or PHEV
as defined in the California ZEV Regulation, Section 1962.1(d)(5)(A), Title 13,
CCR for 2009 and subsequent model years. The manufacturer must also certify
that the vehicle model complies with all applicable federal safety standards for
new motor vehicles and new motor vehicle equipment issued by the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Federal Motor Vehicle Safety
Standards are found in Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)

Part 571. If a written statement and documentation have been previously
provided to CARB in the course of applying for the CARB certification of the
vehicle model, no additional written statement is required. In addition, vehicles
may not be purchased or leased outside of California. For the purposes of CVRP,
this means that vehicles must have a California purchase or lease agreement
and cannot be purchased from an out of state dealership. Vehicles also cannot
be delivered or received out-of-state.

Meet prescribed performance, emissions, and service thresholds:

PHEVs must meet the Transitional Zero-Emission Vehicle definition in the
California ZEV Regulation Section 1962.2(c) Title 13, CCR, including SULEV,
evaporative emissions, onboard diagnostics, extended warranty,
zero-emission Vehicle Miles Traveled (VMT), and advanced componentry
Partial Zero-Emission Electric Vehicle (PZEV) allowance standards as
defined in Section 1962.1(c). PHEVs must have greater than or equal to 35
miles of UDDS range on electricity alone.

ZEMs must meet the “Zero-Emission Motorcycle” definition in Section E of
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this Implementation Manual, successfully complete the Zero-Emission
Motorcycle Evaluation Procedure, have sealed batteries (if lead-acid), and be
covered by a minimum level of after sales service as described below.

» Successful completion of the Zero-Emission Motorcycle Evaluation
Procedure means that a recognized third-party vehicle standards
organization has evaluated ZEM using specific procedures and
CARB has verified that ZEM meets the specified range and
acceleration requirements.

» Each manufacturer must demonstrate to CARB that they have a program
to offer convenient and time-sensitive warranty and maintenance service
to the vehicle owner. An acceptable service program will have readily
available parts, trained service technicians, and the ability to either senda
technician to an owner’s home or pick up and transport the vehicle to an
authorized repair facility.

Warranty Provisions

The vehicle drive train, including applicable energy storage system or a battery
pack, must be covered by a manufacturer warranty. Prior to approving a vehicle
model for addition to the List of Eligible Vehicles, CARB may request that the
manufacturer provide copies of representative vehicle and battery warranties and
a description of the manufacturer’s plans to provide warranty and routine vehicle
service. Original warranty provisions must meet the following requirements:

0 ZEVs must have, at a minimum, a warranty of 36 months; the first 12 months
of the coverage period shall be a full warranty. If the warranty for the
remaining 24 months is prorated, the percentage of the battery pack'soriginal
value to be covered or refunded must be at least as high as the percentage of
the prorated coverage period still remaining. For the purpose of this
computation, the age of the battery pack must be expressed in increments no
larger than three months.

o PHEVs must meet the extended warranty requirements applicable to PZEVs
as described in Section 1962.1(c)(2)(D), Title 13, CCR.

0 ZEMs must have, at a minimum, a warranty of 24 months. At least four
months of the first 12 months of the coverage period shall be a full warranty;
the remainder of the first 12 months and all of the second 12 months of the
coverage period may be covered under optional (available for purchase)
extended warranties and may be prorated. If the extended warranty is
prorated, the percentage of the battery pack's original value to be covered or
refunded must be at least as high as the percentage of the prorated coverage
period remaining. For this computation, the age of the battery pack must be
expressed in intervals no larger than three months. Alternatively, a
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manufacturer may cover 50 percent of the original value of the battery pack
for the full period of the extended warranty.

C. Development of List of Eligible Vehicle Models

The CVRP List of Eligible Vehicle Models will be periodically updated as manufacturers
submit applications and vehicle models are approved. In order for a vehicle to be eligible
for a rebate, the vehicle manufacturer must submit to CARB the Vehicle Eligibility
Application and all supporting documentation. CARB will work with the vehicle
manufacturer to ensure that all the required documentation is received and request any
additional information needed to make an eligibility determination. If the vehicle meets
the eligibility requirements set forth in Section B(2) of this Implementation Manual, then
CARB will add the vehicle to the List of Eligible Vehicle Models, calculate the rebate
amount, and provide the updated list to the Administrator. Vehicles can only be rebated
once the new model and model year is added to the List of Eligible Vehicle Models.

D. Eligibility Based on Income

Businesses are not subject to income verification or income requirements.

For the purposes of CVRP, an applicant’s most recent federal tax return (as reflected on
their Internal Revenue Service [IRS] tax transcript) or other proof of income
documentation as determined by the Administrator may be used to help calculate gross
annual income. CVRP considers an applicant’s most recent federal tax return to be the
one most recently required to be filed by the IRS. CVRP switches to requesting a new
tax filing year for applications submitted the day after the federal income tax filing due
date. For example, CVRP began requesting tax transcripts for tax year 2018 after the tax
filing deadline in April 2019.

Note that these tax documents only reflect taxable income and not gross annual income
(as defined by CARB). Since tax documents may not demonstrate the complete picture
for gross annual income, other proof of income documentation may be requested.

If an applicant has filed their taxes for a tax year before CVRP switches to requesting it,
the applicant may request that CVRP evaluate that tax year. For example, an applicant
who had already filed their 2019 taxes in February of 2020 may request that CVRP
evaluate their tax transcript for tax year 2019.

For the purposes of CVRP, gross income includes both taxable and nontaxable income
sources. This includes, but is not limited to, the following:

Wages, unemployment, workers' compensation, Social Security, Supplemental
Security Income, public assistance, veterans' payments, survivor benefits,
pension or retirement income, interest, dividends, rents, royalties, income from
estates, trusts, educational assistance, alimony, child support, assistance from
outside the household, and other miscellaneous sources.
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For applications submitted using the 2019 tax year, the Administrator will review the
following sections of an applicant’s federal tax return as reflected on their IRS tax transcript
to help determine gross annual income:
e On 2019 IRS Form 1040: Sum of lines 1-6. Line 7 is not used to calculate total
gross income for the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project.
and the following (if applicable),
e On 2019 IRS Form 1040 Schedule 1: Sum of lines 1-8.
o If Line 8, “Other Income,” is negative, then it will not be included as part of
CVRP’s income calculation, unless an exception applies. If Line 8 on
Schedule 1 is negative, then the corresponding “Statement” filed with your
1040 must be provided. The Center for Sustainable Energy (CSE) will review
documentation for possible exceptions. One such exception is the inclusion
of a negative community property adjustment. Net operating losses carried
over from previous years are not an exception.

Updated IRS tax forms were released for use starting with the 2019 tax year. As a
result, for applications submitted using the 2019 tax year, the Administrator will review
the following sections of an applicant’s federal tax return as reflected on their IRS tax
transcript to help determine gross annual income:
« On 2019 IRS Form 1040: Sum of lines 1-6. Line 7 is not used to calculatetotal
gross income for the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project.
and the following (if applicable),
+ On 2019 IRS Form 1040 Schedule 1: Sum of lines 1-8.
Note: If Line 8, “Other Income,” is negative, then it will not be included as part of
CVRP’s income calculation, unless an exception applies. If Line 8 on Schedule 1
is negative, then the corresponding “Statement” filed with your 1040 must be
provided. CSE will review documentation for possible exceptions. One such
exception is the inclusion of a negative community property adjustment. Net
operating losses carried over from previous years are not an exception.

In some situations, more documentation will be requested at the discretion of the
Administrator if tax transcripts do not appear to reflect gross annual income as defined
by the Implementation Manual. An example is when an applicant’s gross annual income
as reflected on recent taxes is less than the down payment of the vehicle to be rebated.

For applicants who have not filed a tax return, documentation will be required to
calculate income. Examples of additional documentation that may be required includes
paystubs, bank statements, W2s, etc. Filing an extension for the tax year being
requested is not considered filing for the purposes of CVRP income calculations. In
these cases, additional documentation will be requested to evaluate the applicant’s
income for that non-filing year.

e Income Cap for Higher-Income Consumers

The maximum income eligibility levels to qualify for a rebate are as follows:
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o $150,000 for single filers (includes married filing separately)

o $204,000 for head-of-household filers

o $300,000 for joint filers (includes qualifying widow(er) with dependentchild
and married filing jointly)

The income cap applies to all eligible vehicle types except FCEVS.
For a vehicle purchased on or after January 1, 2018, an applicant’s participation

in both the Clean Air Vehicle Decal program and CVRP is based upon both the
applicant’s gross annual income and the vehicle type; see Table 2 below:

Table 2: Participation Eligibility for both CAV Decal Program and CVRP

Gross Annual Income Vehicle Type
Battery or Plug-in Hybrid Fuel Cell
AT or ABOVE: Clean Air Vehicle Program

$150,000 for single filers o - OR _
$204.000 for head-of- Clean Air Vehicle Clean Vehicle Rebate Project

: Program ONLY (New owner has 60 days from
household

S date of purchase to choose

$300,000 for joint filers between the two programs.)

UNDER: _ _
$150,000 for single filers, Clean Air Vehicle Program Clean Air Vehicle Program
$204,000 for head-of- Clean Vglli\lc[l)e Rebate AND
household Project Clean Vehicle Rebate Project
$300,000 for joint filers

In other words, for higher-income consumers that purchase or lease a BEV or
PHEYV that do not qualify for a CVRP rebate, your qualification for the Clean Air
Decal should be unaffected. Higher-income consumers that purchase or lease a
FCEV, and thus, are currently exempt from the income caps listed above, will not
receive a rebate if they have received a Clean Air Decal, and vice versa.

Increased Rebate Levels for Low- and Moderate-lncome Consumers

With the exception of ZEMs, rebate amounts will be increased by $2,500 per
rebate for consumers with household incomes less than or equal to 300 percent
of the federal poverty level. Applicants who are claimed as dependents are not
eligible for increased rebates regardless of their income. Increased rebate
amounts are available for FCEVs, BEVs, and PHEVSs.

For the purposes of CVRP, a household includes all family members or other
unrelated persons, including the rebate applicant, who reside together and/or
share common living expenses. Income verification is completed for all members
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of the household ages 18 years and older. Roommates who do not have a lease
separate from the applicant are considered part of the applicant’s household.

The household size and gross annual household income that is reported on the
application should reflect the income when the vehicle was purchased or leased.
Income verification is based upon the information from an applicant’s most recent
tax filing. We recognize that this may not always align with what is reported on the
application, however this is the calculation that will be used to confirm eligibility in
the program.

E. Vehicle Rebate Amounts for Individuals, Businesses, and Public Entities

CARB establishes a rebate amount for each eligible vehicle model up to the maximum
rebate amount for that vehicle type listed in Table 3. Specific rebate amounts for each
eligible vehicle model will be included in the List of Eligible Vehicle Models and available
on the project website. Table 3 summarizes the maximum per vehicle rebate amount:

Table 3: CVRP Maximum Rebate Amounts

Vehicle Type
Filing Status | Gross Annual | copye | gpys | PHEV | Zppe
Income Level S

:ggg‘;’l::?or Gross annual household income

< 300 percent of the federal poverty | $7,000 | $4,500 | $3,500 | $750
Low/Moderate level* (EPL)
Income

Individual 300% of FPL*

to $150K

Standard Head-of- 300% of FPL*
Rebates Household to $204K $4,500 | $2,000 | $1,000 | $750

Joint 300% of FPL*

to $300K
:ggg‘;’l::?or Vehicles must be domiciled at a
Public Fleet facility within the boundaries of a Not
. ; ZIP code containing at least one $7,000 | $4,500 | $3,500 .
Vehicles in underserved community™ census Eligible
Disadvantaged y
. tract

Communities

Individual > $150K

Head-of- -
Income Cap Household > $204K $4,500 Not Eligible

Joint > $300K

* Federal poverty level is updated annually, usually in the first calendar quarter of the year. CVRP
applies the update on the second Wednesday in July of that year to all applications received on or
after that date. The current levels can be found at https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines.

** Disadvantaged community census tracts are identified by CalEPA and these maps are available
at https://ww3.arb.ca.gov/cc/capandtrade/auctionproceeds/communityinvestments.htm and
https://calepa.ca.gov/envjustice/ghginvest/
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The CVRP rebate is not taxable income and the Administrator does not issue a 1099 for
your rebate. The Administrator cannot offer tax advice of any kind. If you have tax
related questions, please consult with your individual tax advisor.

F. Combining Vehicle Rebates with Other Incentives

Participation in CVRP does not preclude a vehicle purchaser or lessee from combining
CVRP rebates with most other incentive opportunities. Rebates could be combined with
federal, state, or local agency incentives as well as Administrator match funding, if
available, to help further buy-down an eligible vehicle’s cost.

AB544 Exclusion - The California Air Decal Program that issues high-occupancy vehicle
(HOV) decals, also known as the Clean-Air Vehicle (CAV) decal, cannot be combined
with the CVRP rebate unless the income restrictions for tax returns fall below:

$150,000 for a single person, $204,000 for a head-of-household, and $300,000 for a
joint tax return. See Section B(4)(i) for additional information.

G. Reduced Ownership Period Provisions: Rental and Car Share Fleets

Rental and car share fleets provide a unique opportunity for introducing eligible vehicles
to a large consumer base. Because vehicles are typically circulated out of the fleets in
less than the 30-month ownership/lease period required under CVRP, provisions are
warranted to allow these vehicles to be rebated. Rental and car share vehicles are
rebate-eligible if retained in California for a minimum of one year (twelve consecutive
months) but fewer than 30 months. Vehicles must be available for rent from a California
rental location for the minimum twelve consecutive month term. Please note: Public
fleets are not eligible for the reduced-ownership provision. Rental fleets and car
share fleets are subject to a limit of 20 rebated vehicles per calendar year. See

Section B(8) for more detailed information regarding the maximum number of rebates
per entity.

Vehicles rebated under the reduced-ownership provision for rental and car share fleets
are eligible for the rebate amounts identified in Table 4. Rental or car share fleets that
own and operate vehicles in California for a minimum of 30 months are eligible for the
vehicle’s maximum rebate amount identified in Table 3.

Table 4: Rebate Amounts for Rental and Car Share Fleets Under the Reduced
Ownership Provision

Vehicle Type Maximum Rebate Amount Under
Reduced Ownership

Fuel-Cell Electric Vehicle $1,800

All-Battery or Range-Extended Electric Vehicle $800

Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle $400

Zero-Emission Motorcycle Not Eligible
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H. Maximum Rebates per Entity

Individual and business applicants are not eligible to receive more than one CVRP
rebate either via direct purchase and/or lease as of December 3, 2019. Applicants who
have not already met their rebate limit prior to December 3, 2019, will be eligible for one
additional rebate. Those who have already met their two-rebate limit will remain
ineligible for an additional rebate. Traditional rental and car share fleets, as defined in
Section E, are subject to limits of 20 rebates per calendar year. Public fleets are limited
to 30 rebates per calendar year. Table 5 summarizes the maximum number of rebates
per entity: See Table 5 below for summary of the maximum number of rebates per
entity.

Table 5: Maximum Number of Rebates per Entity

Consumer Type Maximum Number of Rebates
Individual or Business 1 total*
Public Fleet 30 per calendar year
Rental Fleet 20 per calendar year
Car Share Fleet 20 per calendar year

*Individuals or businesses that have met the rebate limit with a non-fuel cell
vehicle may apply for one additional rebate for an eligible fuel cell vehicle.

e Taxpayer ldentification Number (TIN) Requirements

For the purposes of CVRP, vehicles under common ownership or entities that
have fiduciary control of a fleet, including, but not limited to entities sharing a
common Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN), are considered part of a single
fleet even if they are part of different subsidiaries, divisions, or other
organizational structure of a company, government agency, or other entity. All
entities, other than individuals, are required to disclose their TIN at the time of
rebate application. CARB or its designee may seek financial reimbursement
and/or civil and criminal penalties from a vehicle purchaser/lessee for
nondisclosure or inaccurate disclosure of its TIN or other information relating to
common ownership or fiduciary control of the purchasing entity.

o Unique Identifier for Individuals

All individuals are required to disclose their California driver’s license number at
the time of rebate application and to provide a legible copy of their California
driver’s license as part of the supporting documentation. This number is used to
uniquely identify an individual and to enforce the maximum rebate limit for
individuals as described in Table 5. CARB or its designee may seek financial
reimbursement and/or civil and criminal penalties from a vehicle
purchaser/lessee for nondisclosure or inaccurate disclosure of their California
driver’s license number. Individuals who do not have a California driver’s license
will be required to provide an alternate unique identifier as approved by the
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Administrator.

l. Distribution of Rebates

Rebates will be distributed on a first-come, first-served basis contingent upon funding
availability. Available rebate funds will be reserved by the Administrator following
submission of an online application at the CVRP website or upon receipt of a mailed
application. CVRP for public fleets applicants may scan and e-mail supporting
documentation to publicfleets@energycenter.org. Applicants without Internet access
can contact the Administrator to receive a rebate application by mail. After an
application is accepted by the Administrator, the required supporting documentation
(outlined in Section C(3)) must be submitted by the purchaser or lessee to the
Administrator within 14 calendar days (if mailed, the submittal date will be
determined by U.S. mail postmark). The supporting documentation should be
scanned and submitted through the CVRP website. Applicants without Internet
access may mail the supporting documentation to the Administrator: Center for
Sustainable Energy, Clean Vehicle Rebate Project, 3980 Sherman Street, Suite 170,
San Diego, CA 92110.

Ownership of the vehicle will be demonstrated by providing documentation as approved
by the Administrator. With the exception of vehicles purchased under the special
provisions of Section B(7), owned and leased vehicles must be operated and registered
in California for a minimum of 30 consecutive months from the purchase or lease date
(see Section C(1) for more information).

For all rebates issued, the rebate for an eligible vehicle will be issued to the qualified
recipient in a single allotment. The distribution of this rebate will be made within 90
calendar days of application approval, contingent upon availability of funds. Rebate
checks must be cashed within six months of the date on the check. Checks not cashed
within this timeframe will be cancelled, and the rebate amount returned to the project.

With the exception of Rebate Now applicants in San Diego County, applicants must
begin the rebate process after the purchase or lease of an eligible vehicle.

Pre-Purchase Applications (Rebate Now — San Diego County Residents
Only)

Prior to the purchase of an eligible vehicle, an applicant can submit an
application to get preapproved for a rebate. After getting preapproved, the
applicant will have 14 calendar days to complete the purchase or lease of their
eligible vehicle. The applicant will have a one-time option to extend their
preapproval for an additional 14 calendar days beyond the initial expiration date.
This option will be presented to the applicant via email if their rebate has not
been claimed after ten calendar days. The applicant will have the opportunity to
log in to their account and claim their extension. If the rebate has not been
claimed before the expiration date, the rebate will expire, the reserved funds will
be released to the program and the applicant will have to reapply for a rebate.
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Once an applicant has been preapproved, they have the discretion to choose
whether to apply the rebate to the price of their purchase at a participating
dealership or receive the rebate by check. Participating dealerships are subject to
change without notice.

Application mitted Post-Purch

The purchaser or lessee must submit a rebate application within three months
after the date of purchase/lease to be eligible for a rebate. Vehicles purchased or
leased prior to December 3, 2019 have an 18-month eligibility window in which to
submit an application if they are on the current eligibility list. Note: While an
applicant has three months after purchasing or leasing a vehicle to submit
their application, eligibility for the program is determined by the
Implementation Manual and Terms and Conditions in place at the time an
application is submitted.

For the purposes of CVRP, the date of purchase is the day of purchase or date
the lease commences. A purchase/lease is deemed completed when the
purchaser/lessee of the vehicle has executed and signed a purchase/lease
contract or security agreement.

For Tesla and other vehicles ordered without a standard purchase/lease
agreement, the date of first registration with the California DMV will be
considered the date of purchase or lease. Applicants submitting an application
post-purchase must have taken delivery of their vehicle before submitting an
application.

Applications received prior to the date of purchase/lease as stated above will be
cancelled, and applicants will need to reapply. Eligibility will be reviewed based
on the Terms and Conditions in place at the time a new application is submitted.
Extensions will not be granted.

J.  Waiting List

CARB will review the progress of CVRP as well as development of the Funding Plan to
determine if a waiting list is necessary and appropriate. If necessary, CARB will
coordinate the development of a waiting list with the Administrator. Notification will be
provided on the CVRP website.

ll. VEHICLE PURCHASER OR LESSEE DUTIES AND REQUIREMENTS
A. Vehicle Purchaser or Lessee

The vehicle purchaser or lessee is responsible for submitting the rebate applicationand
providing all required documentation to the Administrator when applying post-purchase
or self-claiming a preapproved rebate. Except for CVRP Rebate Now rebates claimed

Page 15 of 36



by a participating dealership, rebates may not be assigned to a vehicle seller or lessor;
eligible purchasers or lessees must accept the rebate directly. To receive a CVRP
rebate, a vehicle purchaser or lessee must fulfill the following requirements:

e Be an individual, business or government, or public entity that is based in
California or has a California-based affiliate at the time the rebated vehicle is
purchased or leased and meet income eligibility requirements at the time of
application. The entity applying for a rebate must be the same entity listed on the
purchase/lease agreement and the original vehicle registration. For CVRP Rebate
Now applicants, the applicant must be the purchaser/lessee. Note: A trust is not
considered a business. Any vehicle purchased through a trust will be processed as
an individual application and the individual submitting the application on behalf of
the trust is subject to income requirements. Documentation linking the individual to
the trust will be required.

o Consumers must be California residents at the time of vehicle purchase. All
businesses must be licensed to operate in California. Active duty military
members stationed in California, but with permanent residency in another
state are eligible to apply and current military orders may be accepted inlieu
of other proof of residence documentation.

o Non-California public entities (e.g., federal, international) are not eligible to
participate in CVRP for public fleets.

o Purchase or lease a new, eligible vehicle as specified in Section B of this
Implementation Manual. The original lease must be a minimum lease term of 30
months. Lease extensions and lease buy-outs are not eligible for arebate.

o Eligible vehicles may not be purchased, leased, or delivered out of state.
Purchases/leases must be made via a California purchase or lease contract.
Vehicles ordered online and delivered outside of California are not eligible.
The seller’s/lessor’s address as reflected on the purchase or lease agreement
must be in California.

o When submitting a rebate application post-purchase, be a purchaser or lessee of
a new, eligible vehicle and submit a CVRP application within three months of the
vehicle purchase or lease date and prior to exhaustion of available rebate funds.
Vehicles purchased or leased prior to December 3, 2019 have an 18-month
eligibility window in which to submit an application.

o Purchase or lease an eligible vehicle. A vehicle obtained as a gift or a prize is not
eligible for a rebate.

o If applying the preapproved rebate to the price of your vehicle, purchase at a
currently participating dealership. The Administrator will transfer the entirety
of rebate funds to that dealership. The dealership will then complete the
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submission of the required documents, including a complete copy of the
purchase/lease agreement and the registration paperwork.

Retain ownership of the vehicle in California for a minimum of 30 consecutive
months immediately after the vehicle purchase or lease date. (Only rental and
car share vehicles are eligible for a reduced ownership provision if retained in
California for a minimum of twelve consecutive months but fewer than 30
consecutive months). Entities that apply under the terms of an open-ended
lease agreement must clearly demonstrate a 30-month lease term minimum
in their master lease agreement regardless of delivery dates and expiration
dates that may exist.

0 Rebate recipients who do not retain the eligible vehicle for the full 30-month
ownership or lease period will be required to reimburse CARB all or part of
the original rebate amount. See Section C(4). Vehicle purchasers or lessees
are required to notify the Administrator, to arrange for early termination of
vehicle ownership in advance of intent to sell, return, or terminate a lease
prior to the required 30-month ownership period, by calling (866) 984-2532 or
by emailing cvrp@energycenter.org for general program applicants or_
publicfleets@energycenter.org for Public Fleet applicants.

o Public fleet rebate recipients

* Must notify the Administrator within six months of any change in vehicle
domicile location occurring during the required 30-month ownership term.
If vehicles are moved to ineligible locations, a partial return of rebate funds
may be required.

* The increased incentive must own and operate an eligible vehicle for the
required 30-month ownership term. The vehicle must be domiciled at a
facility within the boundaries of a disadvantaged community census tract,
(an eligibility map is provided on the CVRP for public fleets webpage,_
https://CleanVehicleRebate.org/eng/fleet.

Register the new vehicle with the California DMV for a minimum of 30
consecutive months from the original purchase or lease date for use in California.
The registration must be issued in the same name that the vehicle is
purchased/leased under. CVRP Rebate Now applicants must be the first
registered owner of the vehicle. Any government owned vehicle not registered
with the California DMV is still required to operate within California for 30
consecutive months immediately after the vehicle purchase or lease date. Rental
and car share purchasers or lessees must register the vehicle with the California
DMV and operate the vehicle for a minimum of 12 consecutive months after
vehicle purchase or lease date under the reduced-ownership provision or for at
least 30 months in order to receive full rebate amounts. Planned non-operation
(PNO) registrations are not acceptable. Vehicles that have PNO registrations are
not eligible for the rebate.
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Submit the signed application form and all required supporting documentation
within 14 calendar days of application submittal as specified in Section C (3) of
this Implementation Manual. For CVRP Rebate Now applicants, this timeframe
applies both when initially submitting your application and again for submission
of the remaining documentation after the vehicle has been purchased if choosing
to self-claim the rebate funds. Notices will be sent via email and it is the
applicant’s responsibility to ensure their email address is accurate and that it
allows emails to be received from CVRP. Applicants are responsible for
checking their emails related to CVRP. Applicants with applications that cancel
because required supporting documentation was not submitted within the
required timeframe will need to reapply. Eligibility will be reviewed based on the
Terms and Conditions in place at the time a new application is submitted.
Extensions will not be granted.

CVRP for public fleet applications that submit a “pre-acquisition” application and
will not acquire their vehicles within 14 calendar days, must submit proof of intent
to purchase within this timeframe. See Section C(3)(h) for acceptable forms of
proof of intent to purchase. These applicants then have 18-months to purchase
their vehicles, and the remaining supporting documentation must be submitted
within 14 calendar days of the purchase.

For public fleets rebate recipients: Submit annual vehicle usage reports to
the Administrator at publicfleets@energycenter.org for all rebated vehicles
for a period of at least 30 months. Required data may include but is not
limited to mileage reporting, annual fuel use by fuel type and percentage of
operation within underserved communities.

Not make or allow any modifications to the vehicle’s emissions control
systems, hardware, software calibrations, or hybrid system (Violation CVC
27156).

Commit that any emission reductions generated by the purchased vehicle will not
be used as marketable emission reduction credits, to offset any emission reduction
obligation of any person or entity, or to generate a compliance extension or extra
credit for determining regulatory compliance.

Be available for follow-up inspection if requested by the Administrator, CARB, or
CARB'’s designee for the purposes of project oversight and accountability.

Rebate checks must be cashed within six months of the date on the check. Checks
not cashed within this timeframe will be cancelled and the rebate amount returned
to the project.

The vehicle purchaser or lessee is responsible for ensuring the accuracy of the
information on all rebate applications and required documentation submitted to the
Administrator. Please contact the Administrator immediately if there is a mistake on
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your application form. Applicants who submit an application form with an incorrect

applicant name will need to reapply. Eligibility will be reviewed based on the Terms and
Conditions in place at the time a new application is submitted. Extensions will not be
granted.

Submission of false information on any required documents may be considered a
criminal offense and is punishable under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State
of California. CARB or its designee may recoup the CVRP funds that were received
based upon misinformation or fraud, or for which the dealership, manufacturer, or
vehicle purchaser or lessee is in significant or continual noncompliance with this
Implementation Manual or State law. If an applicant is found to provide misinformation
or fraudulent documents, CARB or its designee reserves the right to forward applicant
or rebate recipient information to the Franchise Tax Board or other appropriate agency.
Applicants and rebate recipients should also be aware that the California False Claims
Act permits the Attorney General to bring a civil law enforcement action to recover
treble damages and civil penalties against any person who knowingly makes or uses a
false statement or document to either obtain money or property from the State or avoid
paying or transmitting money or property to the State. CARB also retains the authority
to prohibit any entity from participating in CVRP due to noncompliance with project
requirements or fraud which includes attempted fraud.

Rebate applications that have been denied, cancelled, or approved by the Administrator
may be appealed within ten calendar days of the date of approval/cancellation. The
appeal letter must set forth all facts that form the basis for the appeal. If the only basis
for an appeal is that the applicant disagrees with the policies set forth in the CVRP
Terms and Conditions, and the Implementation Manual, there is no basis for an appeal,
and the appeal will be denied. A formal letter of appeal must be postmarked within ten
calendar days of application approval/cancellation and addressed to the following:

CVRP Appeals

MSCD 5th Floor

1001 | St., P.O. Box 2815
Sacramento, CA 95812

B. Research Participation

CARB reserves the right to request participation from rebate recipients in ongoing
research efforts that support the CVRP and AQIP goals as well as CARB Research
Division efforts. The Administrator shall administer vehicle owner surveys to rebate
recipients to collect data and other information pertaining to CVRP-eligible vehicle
ownership. CARB will coordinate with the Administrator to identify survey parameters
and determine the most effective mechanism for obtaining information.

C. Supporting Documentation

After submitting a rebate application, if the purchaser or lessee does not submit the
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required supporting documentation within the specified 14 calendar days, the funds will

be released back to the project and the purchaser or lessee will be required to submit a
new rebate application. For CVRP Rebate Now applicants claiming the rebate directly,
required supporting documentation for the vehicle must be submitted within 14 calendar
days of rebate claim. Notices will be sent via email and it is the applicant’s responsibility
to ensure their email address is accurate and allows emails from CVRP. Applicants are
responsible for checking their emails related to CVRP. Extensions will not be granted.
The supporting documentation should be scanned and submitted securely through the
CVRP website. Applicants without Internet access may mail the supporting
documentation to the Project Administrator: Center for Sustainable Energy, Clean
Vehicle Rebate Project, 3980 Sherman Street, Suite 170, San Diego, CA 92110. If
mailed, submittal date will be determined by U.S. mail postmark. For security purposes,
supporting documents that are sent on removable media (flash drives, CDs, DVDs,
etc.) will not be accepted. Due to security and privacy concerns, we strongly encourage
applicants to submit supporting documentation via our secure CVRP website.
Applicants may email their supporting documentation to cvrp@energycenter.org with
the understanding that they accept all risk associated with emailing sensitive
documents. CVRP for public fleets applicants may scan and e-mail supporting
documentation to publicfleets@energycenter.org. Note: Emails sent with Zip files are
blocked and the Administrator will not receive your supporting documentation.

The Administrator will select a subset of applications for income verification. Failure to
provide documentation for income verification will result in the application being
cancelled and no rebate issued. The Administrator reserves the right to select an
application for income verification at any time during the application process.

Once the Administrator has verified the documentation meets program requirements, a
rebate check will be issued to the vehicle purchaser or lessee.

Required documentation will include, at a minimum, the following:

e For online applicants, a scanned copy of the submitted application signed by the
vehicle purchaser, lessee, or authorized representative. For applicants who
request a paper application form, a complete application with signature and date.
Contact the Administrator immediately if there is a mistake on your application
form. Applicants who submit an application form with an incorrect applicant name
will need to reapply. Eligibility will be reviewed based on the Terms and
Conditions and Implementation Manual in place at the time a new application is
submitted. Extensions will not be granted.

e Proof of temporary or permanent vehicle registration for the vehicle listed in the
application. For CVRP Rebate Now applicants, this will be required after vehicle
purchase or lease. Public Fleet applications must also fulfill this requirement by
providing registration documentation as outlined in section C(3)(b). The
applicant’'s name must be on the registration, and the registration must be current
(not expired). Other acceptable forms of proof of registration include the
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following:

o0 A copy of the Application for Registration submitted by the dealer to the
DMV if submitted within one year of purchase/lease.

0 A copy of a temporary operating permit if accompanied by a receipt of
payment for DMV registration fees.

o Local, state, and federal agencies and entities may submit other
documents with the prior approval of the Administrator.

Unacceptable forms of proof of registration include, but are not limited to, the
following:

o A DMV file copy

0 An expired registration

0 A PNO registration

A full, complete, and legible copy of the purchase or lease contract with all
pages included. A complete contract is executed and signed. It includes an
itemization of credits, discounts, and incentives received, if applicable, and all
information needed to process the application. The applicant’'s name must be on
the purchase or lease contract. For CVRP Rebate Now applicants, this will be
required after vehicle purchase or lease.

For individuals, a legible copy of their current (not expired) California driver’s
license. This is used to uniquely identify the applicant, prove California
residency, and enforce the maximum rebate limit for individuals (see
Section 8, Table 5).

o0 Individuals who do not have a California driver’s license will be required to
provide a legible copy of a current alternate unique identifier as approved
by the Administrator. They must also provide proof of California residency
in the form of a utility or cable bill from within the last three months, a copy
of the current DMV registration of another vehicle in the name of the
purchaser or lessee (Note: PNO is not acceptable to meet this
requirement), a notarized residential rental agreement that is signed and
dated by both lessee and lessor, or other valid form of Californiaresidency
as approved by CARB.

For businesses, a copy of the formation document filed with the California
secretary of state, California business license, California business tax paid
certificate, or other documentation as approved by the Administrator. Sole
proprietorships and DBA'’s (Doing Business As; also, called fictitious business
name, assumed business nhame, or trade name) cannot apply as a business and
must instead apply as an individual. Documentation linking the individual to the

DBA will be required.

For ZEMs, evidence of maintenance free batteries (and sealed if lead-acid), and
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a 24-month warranty.

Applicants selected for income verification must submit IRS Form4506-T, Request
for Transcript of Tax Return as proof of income, regardless of filing status or
dependency. Alternate proof of income, such as a transcript obtained by the
applicant directly from the IRS, may be submitted as approved by the
Administrator. In some situations, more documentation will be requested at the
discretion of the Administrator if tax transcripts do not appear to reflect gross
annual income.

o For applicants selected for income verification and whose most recent tax
year transcripts are not available, additional documentation will be required
to verify compliance with current income requirements. An IRS Form 4506-
T will be used to confirm non-filing for the most recent tax year and to
request the tax return transcript for the year previous to the most recent tax
year. This transcript will be used as an income benchmark. At that time
additional supporting documents will be required to create a complete
financial picture for the most recent tax year.

o0 Additional documents may include but are not limited to paystubs, bank
account statements, business bank account statements, brokerage account
statements and/or summary of benefits.

Increased rebate applicants selected for income verification must submit:
0 One completed Household Summary Form that reflects the current
household size
0 A completed IRS Form 4506-T for every household member age 18 and
older currently living in the household, regardless of filing status or
dependency

*Note: Additional documentation may be requested to help provide
complete details on income and household size

If an applicant participates in one or more of the public assistance
programs on CVRP’s Categorical Eligibility list, they may also submit
documentation confirming their current participation for consideration by the
Administrator. Note that depending on the program, documentation
required may vary.

Required documentation for public fleet pre-acquisition reservations willalso
include the following:

0 A CVRP for public fleet pre-acquisition application form signed by an
authorized representative of applicant agency.
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o If the vehicle has not been ordered and/or paid for: an official agency
vehicle acquisition plan including specified eligible vehicles and/or a
resolution from the applicant’s governing body (i.e. City Council or County
Board of Supervisors), or other documentation signed by a duly authorized
official with authority to make financial decisions, authorizing the submittal
of the application. Documentation must:

 Indicate the planned vehicle domicile location to confirm thatthe
disadvantaged community eligibility criteria will be met.

» Forincreased incentives, documentation must indicate the planned
vehicle domicile location to which the vehicle will be delivered.

o] If the vehicle has been ordered and/or paid for by the acquiring agency: a
complete copy of the purchase order, invoice or other documentation
confirming the vendor has received the order and/or payment.

D. Vehicle Ownership Provision

With the exception of vehicles purchased or leased under the special provisions in
Section B(7), vehicle purchasers and lessees participating in CVRP are required to
keep the vehicle and meet all applicable project requirements for a minimum 30-month
period after the vehicle purchase or lease date.

If a manufacturer defect or other unforeseen circumstances require the replacement of

a CVRP rebated vehicle with another vehicle of the same technology type (FCEV, BEV,
PHEV, etc.) or upgrade (e.g., replace PHEV with BEV), the Administrator, inconjunction
with CARB, has discretion to allow updated information to be provided with no return of
CVRP rebate funds. To be considered, the replacement vehicle must be on the current

list of eligible vehicles at the time the replacement is made or be the exact same vehicle
that was originally rebated. Lease transfers or lease assumptions are notallowed.

Resale of a vehicle or return of a leased vehicle to a dealer may be allowed within this
30-month period if necessitated by unforeseen or unavoidable circumstances. To
employ this provision, contact the Administrator to initiate this process. If the vehicle is
resold or returned, the vehicle purchaser or lessee must refund promptly to the
Administrator a prorated portion of their rebate, in an amount equivalent to the original
rebate amount divided by 30 months and then multiplied by the number of months
remaining in the original 30-month period (rounded to the nearest month):

(Original Rebate Amount + 30 Months) x (30 — months since vehicle purchase or
lease date)

The Administrator will follow specific procedures when managing vehicles that received

a rebate at the time of original purchase or lease and have since been sold or returned
to the dealer prior to the 30-month ownership commitment (see Attachment A).
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Purchasers or lessees who must resell a vehicle or return a leased vehicle to a dealer
due to unforeseen or unavoidable circumstances such as military relocation outside of
California, or a totaled vehicle, may be exempt from returning the prorated rebate
amount. Exemptions may be approved by CARB on a case-by-case basis.

CARB verifies vehicle ownership through periodic checks of Vehicle Identification
Numbers (VINS) in the California DMV database. If a vehicle purchaser or lessee sells
or returns the rebated vehicle to the dealer and does not receive prior approval, CARB
or its designee reserves the right to recoup CVRP funds from the original vehicle
purchaser identified on the rebate form and may pursue other remedies available under
the law for unauthorized early termination of vehicle ownership. If the Terms and
Conditions of a previous application are not fulfilled, any/all new applications under the
applicant’'s name are subject to a temporary hold. The hold will remain in effect until the
previous application’s Terms and Conditions have been met and/or funds are returned
back to the Administrator.

V. CVRP REBATE NOW PARTICIPATING DEALERSHIP RESPONSIBILITESAND
REQUIREMENTS

Dealerships participating in CVRP Rebate Now will apply a customer’s preapproved
CVRP rebate amount to the purchase or lease of an eligible vehicle. In return, the
dealership may claim the rebate to be paid by the Administrator if all requirements are
met. To participate in CVRP Rebate Now, a dealership will need to complete an
application with the Administrator, agree to the dealership Terms and Conditions and
provide accounting information in order to receive payment. To obtain this
documentation, please contact the CVRP Dealership team at (866) 926-2877 or
dealership@energycenter.org.

Dealerships will receive reimbursement on vehicles if they follow program guidelines as
outlined in the Implementation Manual and Terms and Conditions when completing the
sale.

A. Purchase/Lease Requirements

To receive rebate funds for an eligible vehicle, the following requirements in the
purchase or lease agreement must be met.

e The name of the purchaser or lessee matches the name of the CVRP
preapproved rebate holder.

e The correct rebate amount for the customer and vehicle is applied to the
purchase or lease and clearly shown in line 6F of the 553-CA form or equivalent.

e In case of lease, the lease term is 30 months or greater.

e The agreement is complete, executed and signed.
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B. Pricing

In addition to the customer’s preapproved rebate amount, all other applicable discounts
and incentives, such as manufacturer and dealer discounts, available to customers shall
also be made available by the participating dealership. This in no way limits the
dealership or the customer from further negotiations on the price of the vehicle. The
dealership may grant additional negotiated discounts or incentives.

C. Applying the CVRP Rebate to the Contract

The full amount of the customer’s preapproved amount must be clearly listed onthe
purchase/lease agreement. The Administrator must be able to determine that the
customer received the full value of their preapproved rebate.

In the case of either a purchase or lease, the customer’s full preapproved CVRP rebate
amount for the vehicle shall be applied to the down payment of the vehicle.

D. Vehicle Eligibility

The rebate can only be applied to the sale or lease of CVRP eligible vehicles. Eligible
vehicles must meet requirements that include, but are not limited to, the following:

e Be on the list of eligible vehicles located at: CleanVehicleRebate.org/eligible-
vehicles.

e Be new as defined in the California Vehicle Code (CVC) Section 430 and
manufactured by the original equipment manufacturer (OEM) or its authorized
licensee. Vehicles considered new vehicles solely for determination of
compliance with state emissions standards are not eligible.

e Be registered as new in California upon purchase or lease to the preapproved
rebate applicant.

e Have an odometer reading below 7,500 miles at the time of purchase orlease.

E. Registration Requirements

An Application for Registration of New Vehicle must be provided as proof of registration
and must meet the following requirements.

e The registered owner name/lessee matches the name of the CVRP preapproved
rebate holder.

e The form is complete and signed.

In cases of eligible rollbacks and unwinds, a Used Vehicle Dealer Notice/Temporary
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Identification may be submitted accompanied by the associated statement of facts, but
the dealership must verify in advance that the vehicle has not been previously rebated.
Additional documentation for the vehicle status as a rollback or unwind may be required.
Failure to confirm the eligibility of an unwind or rollback may result in rebate funds not
being disbursed to the dealership.

F. Steps Required for Application and Rebate Approval

Dealerships participating in CVRP Rebate Now must agree to follow the process below
in providing rebates to preapproved CVRP applicants, and in both claiming and
receiving those rebates.

e Confirm the customer’s preapproved rebate status and amount by:

0 Requesting the customer’'s CVRP application number.

o0 Logging into the CVRP website at
http://www.cleanvehiclerebate.org/dealer/login using the application number
and other required login credentials.

o Confirming the customer’s application status is “Preapproved.”

o Confirming the Rebate Now applicant name matches the name of the
customer

e After completing the above process, note the preapproved rebate amounts
per vehicle type shown on the customer’s online application page to be used
in completing the sale.

e Prepare a purchase or lease agreement that meets all requirements n the
“Vehicle Eligibility” and “Purchase/Lease Requirements” Sections D(1) — D(3).

e Ask for and receive the customer’s verbal agreement to allow the dealershipto
claim the preapproved rebate amount.

e Once purchase/lease terms are finalized but before customer signature, click the
“Claim Rebate” button on the online application page and agree to the Rebate
Claim Terms and Conditions provided.

Provide all vehicle information required on the online vehicle claim form.
Within the timeline provided on the rebate claim confirmation page, submitlegible
copies of all required supporting documentation.

e |If contacted by the program Administrator to correct or clarify submitted
information, provide requested information within the timeline given.

G. Dealership Rebate Payment

To participate in CVRP Rebate Now, a dealership must provide Automated Clearing House (ACH)
payment information to the program Administrator and agree to receive all rebate payments by
ACH.

If the dealership rebate claim application meets all requirements, the CVRP program
Administrator will pay the rebate amount to the dealership by ACH. ACH payments are
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initiated within seven calendar days of claim approval and are generally received by the
dealership one to three days later.

H. Funding Availability

Rebate funds are reserved at the time of customer application for CVRP Rebate Now,
and therefore funds are guaranteed for all preapproved rebates that meet the
requirements outlined in Section D.

If CVRP funds are depleted, consumers will be unable to submit new Rebate Now
applications through the CVRP website until more funds are available. Only consumers
with existing preapproved applications at the time that funds are depleted will be ableto
proceed with the preapproved rebate process at the dealership. During any period in
which CVRP funds are depleted, dealerships will continue to follow the same process
described in Section D (6), “Steps Required for Application and Rebate Approval”; no
additional validation will be required to ensure that funds have been reserved for
Rebate Now applicants and are available for payment to the dealership.

l. Unwinds, Rollbacks, and Returns

In the event of an unwind, rollback, or return of a rebated vehicle, the dealership must
notify the program Administrator by emailing cvrp@energycenter.org with details of the
change in the status of the purchase or lease within three business days. If the rebate
payment to the dealership for the vehicle has already been initiated, then the
Administrator will provide instructions to repay the rebate funds. If the rebate payment
has not yet been initiated, it will be cancelled since the purchase or lease agreement
that the rebate was included in is no longer in effect.

J. Consumer-Claimed Rebates

Customers preapproved for CVRP rebates have the option to either allow the dealership
to claim their rebate amount, as described above, or to claim the rebate funds and
request check payment directly to the customer after purchase. If a customer indicates
to the dealership at any point in the sale process that they prefer to claim the rebate and
receive the payment directly, the dealer shall not proceed with the rebate claim process.

K. Termination

The program Administrator may terminate a dealership’s participation in CVRP Rebate
Now if the dealership does not follow the program requirements described in the terms
and conditions.
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V.

DEFINITIONS

“Battery Electric Vehicle (BEV)” means any vehicle that operates solely by use of a
battery, or that is powered primarily through the use of an electric battery but uses a
flywheel or capacitor that also stores energy to assist in vehicle operation.

“BEVX” means a vehicle powered predominantly by a zero-emission energy storage
device, able to drive the vehicle for more than 75 all-electric miles, and also equipped
with a backup auxiliary power unit (APU), which does not operate until the energy
storage device is fully depleted, and meeting requirements in subdivision
1962.1(d)(5)(G), Title 13, CCR Section 1962.1(i)(12).

“Business” means an enterprise, organization, or association entered into for common
purpose. Businesses include, but are not limited to, limited liability companies or
partnerships, cooperatives, corporations, S corporations, not-for-profit and nonprofit
organizations, associations, and investor owned utilities. Businesses are delineated by
Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN). Vehicles owned by a business are considered
part of a single business even if they are part of different subsidiaries, divisions, or other
organizational structures. For the purposes of CVRP, franchises, divisions or
subsidiaries doing business under a common name will be considered one entity, even
if they do not share a TIN, at the discretion of the CARB. Sole proprietorships and
DBA'’s (Doing Business As; also, called fictitious business name, assumed business
name, or trade name) cannot apply as a business and must instead apply as an
individual. Documentation linking the individual to the DBA will be required.

“CARB-certified” means a vehicle that has been certified as a ZEV or a Transitional
Zero Emission Vehicle and issued an Executive Order by CARB in accordance with the
provisions of the California ZEV Regulation (Section 1962(e), Title 13, CCR).

“Car share fleet” is a vehicle fleet solely composed of car sharing vehicles. These
vehicles are under common ownership or fiduciary control, including, but not limited to,
entities sharing a common Taxpayer ldentification Number (TIN). For CVRP purposes,
even if a car share fleet is composed of vehicles that are part of different subsidiaries or
divisions of an organization, including but not limited to entities sharing a common TIN,
it is considered a single fleet. The organization owning the rebated car sharing vehicles
must own and operate the car sharing program and use the rebated vehicles
exclusively for car sharing purposes.

“Car sharing” means a model of vehicle rental where users can rent vehicles for short
periods of time and users are members that have been preapproved to drive.

“Consumer Claimed Rebates” are CVRP Rebate Now rebates for preapproved

applicants that are claimed by the applicant after the purchase/lease of their eligible
vehicle.
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“CVRP Rebate Now” is the option to get preapproved for a CVRP rebate prior to
purchasing or leasing an eligible vehicle (San Diego County residents only).

“Dealer Claimed Rebates” are CVRP Rebate Now rebates for preapproved applicants
that are claimed by the dealership at the time of sale and applied to the applicant’s
purchase or lease.

“Fleet” means vehicles under common ownership or fiduciary control, including, but not
limited to, entities sharing a common Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN). Vehicles
are considered part of a single fleet even if they are part of different subsidiaries,
divisions, or other organizational structures of a company, government agency, or other
entity.

“Floor Model/Test Drive Vehicle” is provided by original equipment manufacturers to
car dealerships for the purpose of test drives and other customer interactions. Also
referred to as a dealer demo. California dealerships may temporarily operate a floor
model or test drive vehicle on public roads with “dealer” license plates for the purpose of
test drives. Use of floor model or test drive vehicles on public roads with “dealer”
license plates does not require vehicle registration with the California Department of
Motor Vehicles (DMV).

“Fuel-Cell Electric Vehicle (FCEV)” means a vehicle that is powered by a group of
individual fuel cells, known as a fuel-cell stack. The stack is designed to contain
enough cells to provide the necessary power for the automotive application. A fuel-cell
stack produces power as long as fuel is available, similar to a conventional engine, but
does so electrochemically rather than with combustion. The electricity generated by the
fuel-cell stack powers the electric motor that propels the vehicle.

“Gross annual income” is determined by the amount reported on the applicant’s
federal tax return as reflected on their IRS tax transcript. Please note: Since tax
documents may not demonstrate all income as defined by CVRP, other proof of income
documentation may be requested.

Gross annual income includes both taxable and nontaxable income sources. This
includes, but is not limited to, the following: wages, unemployment, workers’
compensation, Social Security, Supplemental Security Income, public assistance,
veterans’ payments, survivor benefits, pension or retirement income, interest, dividends,
rents, royalties, income from estates, trusts, educational assistance, alimony, child
support, assistance from outside the household, and other miscellaneous sources.

For applications submitted using the 2019 tax year, the Administrator will review the
following sections of an applicant’s federal tax return as reflected on their IRS tax
transcript to help determine gross annual income:
e On 2019 IRS Form 1040: Sum of lines 1-6. Line 7 is not used to calculate total
gross income for the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project.
and (if applicable),
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e On 2019 IRS Form 1040 Schedule 1: Sum of lines 1-8.

o If Line 8, “Other Income,” is negative, then it will not be included as part of
CVRP’s income calculation, unless an exception applies. If Line 8 on
Schedule 1 is negative, then the corresponding “Statement” filed with your
1040 must be provided. CSE will review documentation for possible
exceptions. One such exception is the inclusion of a negative community
property adjustment. Net operating losses carried over from previous years
are not an exception.

“Gross annual household income” includes the gross annual income of the applicant
and all other individuals in the household, ages 18 years and older, whether they are
related to the rebate applicant or not.

“Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR)” means the vehicle weight described on the
original manufacturer Line Setting Ticket provided to the vehicle dealer.

“Household” includes all family members or other unrelated persons, including the
rebate applicant, who reside together and/or share common living expenses.

“Income Cap” the maximum income allowed, as defined by Gross Annual Income,
to be eligible for CVRP. See Section (B)(4) “Eligibility Based on Income” for details.

“New Vehicle” a vehicle constructed entirely from new parts that have never been
the subject of a retail sale, or registered with the California Department of Motor
Vehicles, or registered with the appropriate agency or authority of any other state,
District of Columbia, territory or possession of the United States, or foreign State,
province, or country.

“Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM)” is the company that produces the parts
and equipment for the vehicles. For the purposes of CVRP, vehicles must be new as
defined in the California Vehicle Code (CVC) Section 430 and manufactured by the
OEM or its authorized licensee.

“Participating Dealership” refers to a dealership that is eligible to receive
reimbursement from CVRP after applying rebate funds directly to the purchase or lease
price of a Rebate Now applicant. Dealerships complete enrollment and training with the
Administrator before being listed as a participating dealership.

“Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle (PHEV)” (in some cases referred to as an Extended
Range Electric Vehicle, Transitional Zero-Emission Vehicle, or E-REV) means a hybrid
electric vehicle which:

o has zero-emission vehicle range capability

o has an on-board electrical energy storage device with useful capacity greater
than or equal to 35 miles of UDDS range on electricity alone,

o is equipped with an on-board charger, and
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o is rechargeable from an external connection to an off-board electrical source.

“Preapproval” is the process by which an applicant reserves and is preapproved for a
rebate prior to purchasing or leasing an eligible vehicle through the CVRP Rebate Now
option. A Rebate Now applicant may apply their preapproved rebate amount directly to
the price of an eligible vehicle at the time of purchase or lease at a participating
dealership or choose to receive the preapproved rebate by check after purchase or
lease.

“Public entity” as defined in California Government Code Section 811.2 includes the
state, the Regents of the University of California, the Trustees of the California State
University and the California State University, a county, city, district, public authority,
public agency, and any other political subdivision or public corporation in the State. For
non-California public entities (e.g., federal, tribal, international), an analogous definition
applies.

“Public fleet” means a fleet under ownership of a public entity. For the purposes of
CVRP non-California public entities are not eligible to participate in CVRP for public
fleets.

“Rebate Now” a pilot program currently limited to San Diego County residents giving
eligible applicants the opportunity to be preapproved for a CVRP rebate prior to
purchasing or leasing an eligible vehicle.

“Rental fleet” means a fleet categorized under the North American Industry
Classification System (NAICS) as an establishment engaged in renting passenger cars
without drivers, generally for short or long periods of time (2007 NAICS code 532111
and 532112).

“Rollback/Unwind Vehicle” is a vehicle returned to a dealership shortly after being
purchased and operated by a buyer. Rollbacks can occur if a buyer’s financing is
rejected. An unwind occurs when an Application for Registration of New Vehicle is
completed, but the sale of the vehicle was not consummated, and the buyer never took
delivery.

“Vehicle Rebate Transfer” is a transfer of an already allocated rebate amount to
another eligible vehicle. This is applicable only in cases where an applicant who
received a rebate purchases a new, eligible vehicle before completing the 30-month
ownership requirement on their first vehicle.

“Zero-Emission Motorcycle (ZEM)” means either a fully enclosed zero-emission
vehicle designed to travel on three wheels or a two-wheeled electric motorcycle. ZEMs
must meet the provisions of CVC Section 400 and be freeway capable.

“Zero-Emission Vehicle (ZEV)” means any vehicle certified to zero-emission
standards.

Page 31 of 36



Attachment A

Procedures for Authorizing Early Lease/Ownership Termination of Rebated
Vehicles

This document provides the necessary steps involved for the Rebate Administrator
(Administrator) and the California Air Resources Board (CARB) to follow if notified of the
resale or lease termination of a Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) rebated vehicle.

ne: Notify the Administrator of Vehicle Resale/L Termination R
If CARB is notified of vehicle resale or lease termination request, CARB will contact the
Administrator with the applicant’'s email and contact information and a brief description
of the request for processing.

Step Two: The Administrator Documents Vehicle Resale/l ease Termination
Request

Once notified by a rebate recipient of interest in reselling/terminating the lease on a
CVRP funded vehicle, the Administrator will document the case on a resale/lease
termination request form:

Applicant contact information

Date when the individual applied for CVRP

Original rebate amount received

Vehicle Identification Number

Reason for vehicle resale/lease termination

Status of vehicle resale/lease termination

Odometer reading on date of resale/lease termination
Prorated rebate amount using the formula below:

©NOoOMLDNE

(Original Rebate Amount + 30 Months) x (30 — months since vehicle
purchase or lease date)

Three: Administrator Review and Rule on Vehicle Resale/L Termination
Reguest
The Administrator will review the resale/lease termination request and any supporting
documentation and inform the individual of their decision within ten working days.

tep Four: The Administrator Notifies Applicant Rulin
The Administrator will communicate their decision to the individual requesting
resale/lease termination, including instructions for refunding the prorated amount of the
rebate to the Administrator if the resale/lease termination request is granted. Refunded
rebates will be added back into the rebate funding pool.

Step Five: The Administrator Notifies CARB of the Applicant Refund or a
. . | —
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Once the prorated rebate amount is refunded back to CVRP, the Administrator will
inform CARB, through program reporting. Additionally, the Administrator will provide
monthly status reports until the refund is received. If the individual requesting
resale/lease termination is unresponsive and fails to return the prorated rebate amount
within 30 calendar days of initial ruling notification, the Administrator shall notify CARB
and provide the individual’s information outlined in Step Two.

t X rdination with Enforcement of CVRP Ownership Term
CARB program staff is responsible for coordination with staff conducting periodic VIN
checks of the DMV database for ownership compliance. Individuals that received
resale/lease termination approval from CARB will not be in violation of the CVRP
ownership terms.
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Attachment B

Procedures for Floor Model/Test Drive and Rollback/Unwind Vehicle Eligibility

This document provides the steps necessary for the Administrator and the California Air
Resources Board (CARB) to manage Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) rebate
applications for floor model, test drive, rollback, and unwind vehicles. Note: The
applicant is responsible for verifying in advance that the vehicle has not been previously
rebated. Vehicles that already received a rebate are not eligible for another rebate,
unless the full amount of the original rebate was returned. Vehicles previously
registered are also not eligible.

Step One: Definitions

Floor Model/Test Drive Vehicles

Floor model or test drive vehicles are provided by original equipment manufacturers to
car dealerships for the purpose of test drives and other customer interactions.
California dealerships may temporarily operate a floor model or test drive vehicle on
public roads with “dealer” license plates for the purpose of test drives. Use of floor
model or test drive vehicles on public roads with “dealer” license plates do not require
vehicle registration with the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

Rollback/Unwind Vehicles

A rollback is a vehicle returned to a dealership shortly after being purchased or leased
and operated by a buyer. An unwind occurs when an Application for Registration of
New Vehicle is completed, but the sale or lease of the vehicle was not consummated,
and the buyer never took delivery.

Step Two: Review of Vehicle Supporting Documents
The Administrator will review the supporting documents within the rebate application to

ensure the application meets all program requirements. A California vehicle sales or
lease contract will indicate if a vehicle is new or used.

2.1 Floor Model/Test Drive Documentation: Per the California DMV'’s Vehicle
Registration Procedures Manual, a new vehicle operated as a floor model or test
drive vehicle (referred to as “demonstrator” vehicles by the California DMV) is
classified to be a used vehicle when subsequently sold to a retail buyer.
However, when sold to the retail buyer, floor model or test drive vehicles must be
registered with the California DMV as a new vehicle through the use of the
Application for Registration of a New Vehicle (California DMV Form 397). The
sale or lease contract and the proof of temporary or permanent vehicle
registration should reflect these DMV requirements. The Administrator may
require documentation showing that the dealership is attesting to the fact that the
car is an unregistered floor model or test drive vehicle (demo vehicle).
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2.2 Rollback/Unwind Documentation: Per the California DMV’s Vehicle
Registration Procedures Manual, rollback and unwind vehicles occur when they
have been registered by the original purchaser through the use of the Application
for Registration of New Vehicle (California DMV Form 397). The Administrator
requires documentation showing that the dealership is attesting to the fact that
the car is either a rollback or unwind vehicle.

hree: - hicle Eligibili

Based on the supporting documents provided with the rebate application, the
Administrator, with input from CARB, will determine whether the applicant is eligible for
the CVRP rebate.

3.1 Floor Model/Test Drive Eligibility: A floor model or test drive vehicle which
was not previously registered, has an odometer reading of fewer than 7,500
miles at the time of purchase, and meets all other CVRP vehicle eligibility
criteria, is eligible for the CVRP rebate. Per Section 2(a) of the CVRP
Implementation Manual, a floor model or test drive vehicle which has previously
been registered does not meet the CVRP vehicle eligibility criteria, thus is not
eligible for the CVRP rebate.

3.2 Rollback/Unwind Eligibility: A rollback or unwind vehicle has previously been
registered with the California DMV; however, the sale or lease was never
completed. The vehicle was either returned or never delivered and must have an
odometer reading of fewer than 7,500 miles at the time of purchase. These
vehicles’ eligibility will be determined on a case by case basis after reviewing the
supporting documentation.
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