

Bay Area AirQuality

MANAGEMENT District

SINCE 1955 ALAMEDA COUNTY Tom Bates (Secretary) Scott Haggerty

Jennifer Hosterman Nate Miley CONTRA COSTA COUNTY John Gioia

John Gioia Mark Ross Michael Shimansky Gayle B. Uilkema

MARIN COUNTY Harold C. Brown, Jr.

NAPA COUNTY Brad Wagenknecht (Vice-Chairperson)

SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY Chris Daly Eric Mar Gavin Newsom

SAN MATEO COUNTY Carol Klatt Carole Groom

SANTA CLARA COUNTY Susan Gamer Yoriko Kishimoto Liz Kniss Ken Yeager

> SOLANO COUNTY James Spering

SONOMA COUNTY Shirlee Zane Pamela Torliatt (Chairperson)

Jack P. Broadbent EXECUTIVE OFFICER/APCO



August 10, 2009



Alan Solomon Project Manager Siting, Transmission and Environmental Protection Division California Energy Commission 1516 Ninth Street, MS-15 Sacramento, CA 95814

> Mariposa Energy Center APN 099B-7050-001-10 Byron, CA 94514 Plant No. 19730, Application No. 20737

Dear Mr. Solomon:

Subject:

The Bay Area Air Quality Management District has completed a preliminary review of the Determination of Compliance/Authority to Construct Application. The District has determined that the information contained therein is sufficient to undertake a Determination of Compliance review. In addition, the District may also request from the applicant any information necessary for the completion of the Determination of Compliance review.

If you have any questions on this matter please call Madhav Patil, Air Quality Engineer II at (415) 749-4674.

Sincerely,

Barry G Young Air Quality Engineering Manager Permit Evaluation Section Engineering Division

Cc: Bo Buchynsky, Diamond Generating Corporation Mariposa California

BGY: mp

Spare the Air

The Air District is a Certified Green Business Printed using soy-based inks on 100% post-consumer recycled content paper

939 Ellis Street - San Francisco California 94109 - 415.771.6000 - WWW.BAAQMD.GOV